Toddlers embracing technology

23 Apr

I do most of my blogging from my iPad, the main issue with doing that is that Miss Z thinks the iPad is hers.

If I start typing away she comes along and tries to either grab it off me or swipe her finger across the screen.

If it is not the iPad it is the iPhone!

I am always in awe of how someone so young can navigate her way around this technology.

The unfortunate thing is she thinks everything is touch screen therefore the TV in her toy room is covered in fingerprints! You can see where she has dragged her finger from one side to the other (most probably when she was trying to help Dora the Explorer navigate her way to the crystal castle!)

I remember earlier this year watching the news when school returned about a Catholic school in Western Sydney which gave their year 1 students iPod touches to use in class. Most seemed pretty proficient in using one too!

I don’t think introducing this technology in schools will remove all memory of good old crayons, paints, flash cards or maths rods (remember the black, white, orange and red rods?Ā  I loved them!), but it should simply enhance their learning experience.

So my question is, what do we do, let kids be kids and let them only play with toys, or do we allow their curiosity about everything ā€œiā€ take over? Should we allow them to use such technology on a regular basis, especially in the home?

Admittedly there are some great educational apps out there in the market today.

If we don’t expose our children to these things are they going to be left behind when they do go to school and their peers have been using this technology for years?

I am happy for Miss Z to play with my phone or iPad but we need to strike a happy medium with outdoor play too.

I am pretty tech savvy myself, however I am sure once Miss Z starts school she will be able to teach me a thing or two!


7 Responses to “Toddlers embracing technology”

  1. MiMi April 23, 2012 at 4:36 pm #

    My kids do the same, they use our phones every chance they get! I am all for giving them a chance to use phones, ipads, computers etc as they will be behind the 8 ball at school if they dont start using it now!

    • Jodi @ Mummyhood101 April 24, 2012 at 12:54 pm #

      Totally agree MiMi! Thanks for reading and taking the time to reply! šŸ™‚

  2. iGameMom April 24, 2012 at 12:33 pm #

    I think we should let them do all, coloring with crayons, and doodling on the iPad. They learn different skills from different tools.

    • Jodi @ Mummyhood101 April 24, 2012 at 12:56 pm #

      I think all the different methods give them such an enhanced learning experience too! Especially if they don’t like one medium their world is so open with technology they can choose another! šŸ™‚

      • iGameMom April 24, 2012 at 1:03 pm #

        they will have no excuse for not doing better than us – they have more tools/toys than us. šŸ™‚

  3. Melissa Wrightson April 24, 2012 at 6:30 pm #

    This post really hits home for me. I’ve been questioning my choice to allow my son Max to watch Bananas in Pyjamas on my iPhone for some time now. It’s the only way he’ll travel in the car for more than ten minutes without complaining.

    I think it is fine, if used in moderation. I agree that if we don’t expose them to technology then they will be left behind. It will be their future after all.

    http://fromboardroomtobabies.blogspot.com.au/2012/03/it-for-toddlers-adopt-or-reject.html

    • Jodi @ Mummyhood101 April 24, 2012 at 6:53 pm #

      I really wonder what sort of technology our kids will have when they are our age! Will there be no mobile phones, only a chip implanted in their hand which they talk in to! Possibilities are endless! šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

