Mum = business. Dad = fun!!

20 Apr

I always feel like the mean parent!

Miss Z hit terrible twos at 15 months, and some days all I feel I do is raise my voice at her!

NO Zara!

DON’T Zara!

STOP IT Zara!

PUT IT DOWN Zara!

GET OFF THE TABLE Zara!

The time of day Miss Z loves is 7pm!

Much excitement comes with the arrival of the big hand on the 12 and the little hand on the 7!

So what happens at this time?

Daddy is home from work, so it is fun fun fun!

Lots of kisses, cuddles, playtime, laughing, dancing, singing, jumping, squealing and not to forget tickling, to be had!

It is not that Miss Z and I don’t do these things during the day, but they seem to be coupled with lots of NOs and DON’Ts!

It seems Miss Z is an angel with daddy and a devil with me!

Though daddy thinks I am part of the fun police, so maybe it is just the way I react makes Miss Z react the way she does.

I don’t not like fun, but I like to make sure Miss Z is safe and won’t get hurt!

So mummy is the mean one, daddy is the playful one! Well, that is what it feels here.

What about in your household? Do you feel like the bad guy?

7 Responses to “Mum = business. Dad = fun!!”

  1. beachmum April 22, 2012 at 2:27 am #

    yup, I’m usually the one cracking the whip- the only one that seems to think jumping off the furniture is a bad idea. The only one that thinks sommersaults and standing on your head could result in a neck injury. I am the only one with a sense of time management as well. I love my husband. He is a great dad. However, sometimes I feel like I have 2 kids. A toddler and a 39 year old.

  2. Bin April 22, 2012 at 8:38 am #

    It’s exactly the same in our family too. All three of them have a quick change of personality when Dad walks in the door at night. It can be really upsetting when you have been on the rough end of their sillyness all day and as soon as Dad walks in they’re perfect angels. Yep I am definitely the bad guy in our family.

  3. Jodi @ Mummyhood101 April 22, 2012 at 11:24 am #

    I think it is tough too because from 4.30pm everything goes downhill, kids are getting tired and cranky and “witching hour” kicks in! It is then a rush to get dinner ready for them, run their bath and get them changed. Often they are cranky the WHOLE time, and then by the time that is done, and I have endured 2.5 hours of angry babies, daddy gets home and they are happy (and I am exhausted!)

  4. Sally P April 23, 2012 at 12:45 pm #

    Oh, I can relate to this! I seem to be the one who dishes out the discipline as my two spend all day with me, so yes I am the bad guy! It seems unfair as I want to be the fun one for a change.

    • Jodi @ Mummyhood101 April 23, 2012 at 12:59 pm #

      Thanks for your comment Sally, I am sure our kids see us as “fun” in some way….or I hope anyway! 🙂

  5. Jas Barnes April 23, 2012 at 3:08 pm #

    I have to say its the opposite for me now that I am back at work. Don’t get me wrong I do sometimes have to be the ‘bad one’ but being back at work 5 days a week part-time and Keira being in daycare 2 days a week and also having my mum & dad as carer’s, I think she gets a mixture.

    I am also a BIG softie and I do let her get away with a lot more than say my husband does so he is the one that always cracks the whip when he’s home from work. I have to admit though, she doesn’t play up too much with me and on the other hand she plays up with dad so much. Never know perhaps things may change as she gets passed the ‘toddler stage’.

    I do know what you mean though, I remember when I was at home a full day with her, her daddy was the ‘fun one’.

    • Jodi @ Mummyhood101 April 23, 2012 at 3:16 pm #

      I am thinking things will change once I get back to work too! They should both be excited to see me when I pick them up from day care! So hopefully I will be perceived as the fun one, well until daddy gets home! 🙂

Leave a Reply

