How do you know when you’re finished?

16 Apr

I adore kids, hence the reason as soon as my husband agreed we started our ‘trying to conceive’ journey immediately!

One month in to it…..BANG! I fell pregnant on our honeymoon! And when Miss Z was only 6.5 months a surprise pregnancy happened, Master M was on his way!

Many people comment on our ‘pigeon pair’ and presume we have completed our little family since we have the girl/boy ‘set’.

It has been hard work with sleepless nights with Master M not being able to self settle. During the day I am managing sibling jealousy, different routines, play dates, day care, shopping, laundry etc etc it is very exhausting. However after all this, I don’t think I am done……

Even with the vivid memories of morning sickness, swollen ankles, labour pain (or should I call it labour agony!) the trauma of an emergency c-section, breast feeding issues, the list goes on, number 3 has not been ruled out. Well not in my book anyway. 🙂

I have actually been dreaming of another baby, well not actually dreaming, I am usually half awake, searching our bed, under the covers for a newborn baby which I think is there! Weird I know.

It is a very strange feeling knowing that both my kids are in their own beds but I have a sense that another baby around. I am sure there is one just waiting in the wings for the perfect (or imperfect) time to arrive!

I was once told you don’t regret the children you do have, you only regret the ones you don’t.

How did you know when your family was complete? Or are you thinking of the pitter patter of little feet? Is it better to have one child, or maybe even six?  How do you know how many is right for you?

4 Responses to “How do you know when you’re finished?”

  1. Melissa Wrightson April 16, 2012 at 9:19 pm #

    I have never been interested in children. All my life I wondered if I would ever have any.

    At 36 I was a late starter, but my Max is the BEST thing that has EVER happened to me, and if I can make something as wonderful and precious as he is, then I desperately would love another.

    I sometimes wonder if I could have 3. Could vs would. I’d be in my early 40’s, but they are divine creatures and I’m blessed to have at least one.

    • Jodi @ Mummyhood101 April 16, 2012 at 9:36 pm #

      I was a late starter too! I had Zara at 35 and then Max at 36.

      However saying late starter doesn’t seem to be correct, well at least going by my mothers group! Average age I would say is 34/35. 🙂

      Yes they are divine creatures, even if they are the sole reason of your sleep deprivation. 🙂

  2. Bin April 20, 2012 at 10:14 am #

    You sound like me after I had my second child I too had a pigeon pair. I still wanted to go back for more and I did. I got my second daughter. I will admit, it was greedy of me to want a third, and it nearly killed me (not literally) but more mentally I would say. But I wouldn’t be without her. But now when people ask me if there will be any more, I am quick to answer with a definite NO! But I would say that if you feel you aren’t done, then you will have more.

    • Jodi @ Mummyhood101 April 20, 2012 at 12:25 pm #

      Someone did say the same thing to me, if you don’t think you are done, then you are not done! 🙂 3 seems like a nice number, 4 seems a bit daunting! 😉

Leave a Reply

