Ummmmm, what was I doing again? Mummy brain!

11 Apr

It is said that when you fall pregnant you develop baby brain, you forget to do things, you forget birthdays, you forget where you are going, you can even forget your underwear too.

The common misconception is that you will return to normal once bub is born, albeit a little tired!  Yeah right………..!

Baby brain has now become Mummy brain.  This strain of brain is worse!

The one incident that springs to mind (wow something I actually remember!), is after a Sunday morning grocery shopping trip with Miss Z who at the time was 5 months old, we were headed home with a boot full of goodies.  I remember talking to my hubby about whether it was going to rain that afternoon as we were going to head to the park.

I instantly froze, “Oh no!!!!  I left my mobile phone on the baby seat of the trolley!”  David stopped the car, and went to do a U-turn and head back to Wollies when I looked down, the mobile phone was in my hand, I was surfing the net looking at www.bom.gov.au and viewing the radar screen, looking for rain!

Oops…!

So much information that once flowed freely through my brain, seems to have disappeared in to nothingness; a black hole where hopes, dreams, ideas, important dates, opinions, notions, thoughts, go to disappear, never to be remembered again!

I used to know the value of “pi” (or π) up to 8 decimal places (yes, I am a ‘mathlete‘ 😉 )  Ha! The only thing I can tell you now is that “pie” is something you eat, with a nice dollop of cream on top.

I could remember faces and names of people I had met only once, for 5 minutes 10 years ago!  Some days I feel I can’t remember my OWN name!

How to overcome this problem I do not know, well maybe I do and I have just forgotten.

I may not be able to see the front of my fridge again due to all the post-it notes stuck on it,  my mobile may constantly be buzzing with reminders, my whiteboard has no more space left on it to write appointments, but damn you brain I will remember things again!!

So, I better go and hit the publish button NOW, otherwise I will probably forget to post this post, then I will forget that I didn’t post this post, and it will sit in my drafts until I stumble across it one day and say to myself “I don’t remember writing this!”

Any embarrassing Mummy brain moments you wish to share?  (Don’t bre afraid none of us will probably remember what you tell us anyway! )

5 Responses to “Ummmmm, what was I doing again? Mummy brain!”

  1. Melissa Wrightson April 11, 2012 at 8:47 pm #

    I Love this post! It made me laugh. Yes I absolutely have these moments.
    Just today I grabbed the dish cloth to wipe down the kitchen counter, got distracted, and ten minutes later whilst reading to my son I realised I still had the dish cloth in my hand. “Why am I holding this?” I thought to myself. So I put it back in the sink and completely forgot to wipe down the kitchen counter.
    I have many of these moments!

    • Jodi @ Mummyhood101 April 11, 2012 at 9:13 pm #

      Thanks for the message Melissa. 🙂

      The amount of times I walk in to a room and forget why I was there is scary or I get up grab my iPad and think “I need to look up XYZ on Google”, but by the time I get to the Google home page which takes two seconds I have forgotten what I was going to look for! 🙂

  2. Deb Stretton April 12, 2012 at 8:33 pm #

    Oh too funny and too true!! I walked into the lounge looking for my mobile last week and it was in my hand and my kids are 6 and 4!!!

    • Jodi @ Mummyhood101 April 12, 2012 at 9:01 pm #

      Oh Deb, it never does leave you huh? 🙂 Hope you are well! 🙂

      • Deb Stretton April 16, 2012 at 4:39 pm #

        Nope it nevers stops lol I’m good flat out, working full time with 2 little ones is a tough gig, lucky I love it!

Leave a Reply

